The Great Outdoors

There is something about being outside that brings me joy. It might be the breeze, or the sunshine, or just the sheer alive-ness of the outdoors. I love that each season comes with different scents and feelings. Right now, it’s crisp and damp at the same time.

I think that it’s a tragedy that so much of modern work occurs inside. Personally, I’m inclined to blame the industrial revolution. It takes the heat for a lot of problems, but I feel okay about piling on another fault.

Sometimes at work I begin to get a little stir crazy, and I long for the outdoors. If I lean my chair in just the right way, sometimes I can see the light coming in from the window across the hall, but that is a poor substitute. On days that I’m feeling particularly ambitious, I’ll venture across the street to Starbucks. Invariably, even if it’s pouring rain, those few minutes of fresh air change me.

So my recommendation to you, dear reader, is this: go outside. Even if just for a moment. And see what happens…it just might change everything.

One thought on “The Great Outdoors

  1. Industrial revolution– Dr. Edwards and his beautiful and logical lectures on the demise of the south and its glory as an agrarian and awesome society… boo. 😀

Leave a Reply

