this could be Trouble

Like most 20somethings I know, I left the east coast and headed back home to the heartland midwest for Thanksgiving. It was wonderful. I took a walk around my neighborhood with my family, sat in front of a crackling fire reading good fiction and drinking wine, decorated the house for Christmas, caught up with family and friends and began the Advent season with the church I grew up in.

But I wanted to come back.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Ohio. I love the pace of life and that I can travel within a 30 mile radius of my house and continue to see people that I know and love. I appreciate the ties to family and to community – that people who grow up there come back and raise families there. But for now, I’m glad that I live in a bustling metropolis.

Sure, I would love it if I could walk to my three best friends’ houses like I can at home. And the gas prices are significantly better. But DC seems more vibrant, more…thoughtful. Not in terms of compassion, but in terms of intellectual challenges. The midwest isn’t changing a lot. It’s stable, it’s good. But DC is about to change a LOT, and people want to talk about that. They want to talk about foreign policy, education, health care, religion and relationships. And not just the 20somethings, but everyone.

So congratulations, DC. You have succeeded in winning me over.

For now.

Leave a Reply

