To the Cross I Cling

Sometimes, life is hard.

It doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me, to be honest. I understand that this is not the way life is supposed to be, but that does very little to quell the anger that I often feel when faced with injustice or heartache.

I am a people person. One who also places a high value on living life along side others. In living corporately, we take on each other’s joys and we bear each other’s sorrows.

Yet in this season of life, it seems like all those in my community have deep pain. It shows up in different ways and at different times, but the reality is present for each of us. Left to our own devices, I think we would be lonely, depressed and isolated in our own individual heartache.

Except for one, seemingly insignificant fact: we continue to pray together.

I have never been one who defaults to prayer. I have many friends who turn to prayer always and often. That was never me. I like to try and work things out myself, fail, then pray.

But in this season of life, prayer is all we have. We don’t have the strength to support each other. So we join together and lean into the cross and trust. Because that’s all we have, anyway.

Leave a Reply

