Twitter

Very rarely, I’ll come across something and think “If I had a Twitter account, I think this is the sort of thing I would share.” Today was another one of those times. I give you: the Penny.

Standard. You get one or two with every transaction, they get buried in your pocket and largely dismissed until you have an overwhelming number and begin to be the lady who pays for her $2.50 cup of coffee in coins. Don’t judge me. I know you’ve been there too.

Today, as I was going about this venture, I came across this abnormality. A shield? No no. The penny has the Lincoln Memorial on the back. No really. All of them. The Lincoln Memorial. (Unless you get a really old one with wheat on it. Obviously the Lincoln Memorial was an improvement.)

A shield?

Apparently this is the new penny. So you better get used to it.

2 thoughts on “Twitter

  1. Sam Seaborne does a great rant on West Wing about how the penny is ubiquitous in American currency yet totally underused, and how the state of Illinois pitches a fit every time they try to eliminate the penny from circulation. (Why? Lincoln.) So maybe the shield is a step toward eliminating a totally worthless part of our monetary system? Or a step toward America becoming the Justice League?

Leave a Reply

