Much Thanks

Since moving to DC more than 5 years ago, I have accepted that for the foreseeable future my life will be less settled than I would prefer. Over the last 5 years, I have moved four times and lived with six different groups of people. Rather than relocating closer to each other, my friends have continued to move father away. My previously stable church is going through a season of transition and my once-present roommates have added full-time coursework to their already full-time jobs. In the midst of this unrest, I have started a new job with a steep learning curve.

But on this National Day of Thanksgiving, I have returned to a place of constants. The traffic patterns, the landscape, the laughter and faces are all familiar and comforting. There is much to be thankful for in DC. Other days will tell of my enviable commute and the compassion of my roommates. But today is a day to be thankful for family – that great, unwavering constant.

Today, I pray that you would be with those who love you; that you would be full, and joyous, and thankful.

May your table be graced with lovely women and good men. May you drink well enough to drown the envy of youth in the satisfaction of maturity…May we all sit long enough for reserve to give way to ribaldry and for gallantry to grow upon us. May there be singing at our table before the night is done, and old, broad jokes to fling at the stars and tell them we are men…

The road to heaven does not run from the world, but through it…It is a place for men, not ghosts – for the risen gorgeousness of the New Earth and for the glorious earthiness of the True Jerusalem.

Eat well then. Between our love and His priesthood, He makes all things new. Our last Home will be home indeed.”

The Supper of the Lamb, Robert Capon

Leave a Reply

